To become an Alaska notary, the application fee is $40 and the surety bond is a mere $1000. This surety bond may be obtained in the formof a commercial bond or a private bond: a private individual may act as a surety on behalf of the notary. To become a notary in Alaska, you must be atleast 19 years old rather than the standard age of 18 required by most other states.
An Alaska notary need not take a training course or an exam. However, there is a “test” included in the paperwork an Alaska notary must submit to the Lieutenant Governor’s Office. There is no application form, but the bond andthe test serve that purpose.
The term for a notary in Alaska is four years. There is, however, a Limited GovernmentalCommission in Alaska which allows Federal, State, and Municipal employees toacts as notaries for governmental business only; this is a special type of Alaska notary, and this commission may be held indefinitely as long as the notary isemployed by the government. The Alaska notary employed by the government of course may not ask for a fee. An Alaska notary may hold both types of notary commissions at the same time, apparently, and thus may work for the government and as an independent Alaska notary as well.
If you want to know more about how this actually works in Alaska and what it is like to be a notary in Alaska, just say “Alaska notary” (I’ll ask a notary). Sorry.
You might also like:
FAQ: How much do notaries charge?
Common notary acts from A to Z